Natural History Society of South Australia

INCORPORATED

The Natural History Society of South Australia Inc cordially invites all members to our:

Annual General Meeting 2014

to be held on Wednesday, 21st May 2014 at 6:30pm for 7:00pm start Charles Hawker Building Conference Centre Waite Campus, University of Adelaide Waite Rd, Urrbrae

> **Guest speakers:** Donna Belder and Tristan O'Brien.

> > Agenda

- 1. Welcome and recording of those present
- 2. To receive apologies
- 3. Minutes
- 4. President's Report
- 5. Treasurer's Report
 - a. Receive and adopt the Financial Reports of the Society for the following periods: - Adjustment period 1 July to 31 December 2011*.
 - Financial year 1 January to 31 December 2012, and
 - Financial year 1 January to 31 December 2013.
 - b. Receive the Auditor's Reports for the above periods.
 - c. Questions on the accounts presented directed to the Auditor/s.
- 6. To elect up to ten general members to the Management Committee (see overleaf).
- 7. To appoint the Auditors for 2014.
- 8. Closure.
- 9. Guest Speakers Recipients of the Alwin Clements Prize in Natural History
 - a. Donna Belder: Foraging Ecology of the Chestnut-rumped Thornbill
 - b. Tristan O'Brien: Birds and Burns Do birds respond well to controlled burning?

* A 6-month period of adjustment was required to bring our financial year, previously ending on 30 June each year, into compliance with our Constitution: "14.1.1. The financial year of the Society shall end on 31 December in each calendar year."



Preliminary list of NHSSA members nominated for election as members on the Management Committee

Ten general committee member positions on the Management Committee are to be filled for one year until the next AGM.

Signed nominations of persons must be received by the Secretary by the 15th of May 2014 (see enclosed forms).

The following people have been nominated to date (29 April 2014):

Alister Smith Barb Endersby Gary Taylor Glen Taylor Graham Nye Jess Strauss John Endersby Karen Collins Peter Clements

A final list of nominations will be provided at the AGM or will be available on the website from the 15th of May 2014 (nhssa.com.au).

Executive members of the Management Committee are to be elected from within those Members forming the Management Committee at their first meeting following the AGM.